More States Make Juneteenth an Official Holiday


People attend Juneteenth celebrations in the Harlem neighborhood of New York, Saturday, June 19, 2021. (AP Photo/Eduardo Munoz Alvarez)
Reading Time: < 1 minute

This year, a Pew Research Center analysis reveals that at least 28 states and the District of Columbia will observe Juneteenth as an official public holiday. This means that state government offices will be closed, and state workers will enjoy a paid day off.

Connecticut, Minnesota, Nevada, and Tennessee have newly enacted laws to recognize Juneteenth as a state-level public holiday, joining the ranks of those states where it is already an official holiday. 

Pew’s analysis also found that in Alabama and West Virginia, Juneteenth has been authorized as a state holiday for this year through each state’s Governor, and may become official if the respective legislatures pass bills to formalize it.

Click play to listen to the AURN News report from Jamie Jackson:

advanced divider
advanced divider